Dendroboard banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
4 Tinctorius Cobalt
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey there!
I'm quite new in the dart frog hobby and I am currently facing some issues with my Tinctorius Cobalt.

I had 5 tinctorius Cobalt, 4 froglets from the same parents (Mercure, Cigue, Belladone and Ricinus), and 1 6 months older bought separately (called Cyanure). When I introduced the froglets to the older frog "Cyanure", no issue occured whatsoever and until now everything was going well. Now that the froglets are not froglets anymore but about 8 months old, their growth has been completely different for each individual. "Ricinus" is almost as big as the oldest frog "Cyanure", "Belladone" is a bit smaller, "Mercure" and "Cigue" were tiny still. Recently "Cigue" stopped eating, kept on hiding in the same spot, and despite our efforts she died. Shortly after, Mercure started spending her time in the bath or next to it, and stopped eating too so I thought about parasites. We've put her in another tank and she still bathes and doesn't eat too much but I feel she is more lively than before. The breeder to whom we had bought the 4 froglets told me he suspects more of a dominancy issue though but I had never seen any aggressive behavior. About day after moving "Mercure", I saw the biggest of the 4 "Ricinus" assess its dominancy over the smallest left in the tank, "Belladone" (now that Cigue was dead and Mercure in another thank). Since then, it's been pushing itself on the ground, not eating, not moving, and today Belladone looks really bloated! I moved it to the quarantine tank as I believed it might be parasites as well, but I wonder if it's not just a dominancy issue. While moving it to the smaller tank, Belladone just let itself fall on the back not moving, i've put it back on its legs but it is still barely moving from it's spot, just sometimes kicking a ff that's been walking on it.