Dendroboard banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
179 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was really surprised this morning and I thought I would share with you guys. I have been raising frogs for a couple years now and never seen this, nor knew they did this so I am kinda surprised.

My leuc im guestimating hes about 3 maybe 4 months old at best was doing a dry heave motion and opening his mouth and I noticed a little twig was stuck in the side of his mouth.

I watched him for about 5 minutes do this and I was kind of concerned so I got him out of the tank and removed the stick from his mouth.

Well as soon as I did he leaped from my hand all the way to the floor. I picked him up and he was lifeless. I touched him rolled him over in my hand and nothing.

I put him back in the tank and watched him for a few minutes and not a single movement he just layed there lifeless.

I went downstairs to go sit outside and be upset ofr a few minutes and came back upstairs to get him out of the tank and hes hopping around eating flys.

I was so angry:mad: he tricked me but then very happy that hes still alive. :D

·
Registered
342 Posts
I had a BYH do that to me about a month ago. I did some reading and from what i gathered its a cal def problem you may wanna up his supplments for a while. My guy came to me malnurshed i think he didnt make it.

·
Registered
1,923 Posts
Your frog was shedding its skin, which they eat, which is done daily, it is the protective layer frogs put on during sleep periods. Then you came along and scared him and he either feigned death or the more likely scenario is he had a little stress induced seizure.

·
Registered
179 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
He had a stick in his mouth he was holding his mouth open and kept trying to grab it with his arms. I know what shedding is. He gets fed daily with rapashy calcium + dusted flies so I don't see how it could be a cal deficiency

·
Registered
1,923 Posts