Dendroboard banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i know multispecies tanks are generally frowned upon but i was wondering how well a pair of both auratus and leucomelas would do in a 29 horizontal. if not i could do a 40 breeder but then i would have to get a new tank. i am not intending to breed and any eggs or froglets that are obviously hybrids would be humanely uthanized by means of a co2 generator. they would be watched and observed closely and any obviously aggressive frogs would be removed. its not a final decission just a question. please do not go hating on me. i am new to this.

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
i have seen and read that thread about three times already. im asking the professional breeders what their opinion is.

·
Registered
1,775 Posts
CAN you do it? Well, I'm assuming you have hands.

SHOULD you do it? Nope.

Basically what you just told us is that it's okay to let leucs and auratus breed as long as you methodically exterminate 100% of the offspring. Seems a bit cruel when you could just keep them separately to begin with, no? Wouldn't it be easier to make a 2nd tank, and make back your money on the 2nd setup by selling some legitimate auratus or leuc froglets?

·
Registered
1,367 Posts
i have seen and read that thread about three times already. im asking the professional breeders what their opinion is.
Im quite sure professional breeders dont mix anything, hence the word "professional". Plus I can only assume most productive breeding happens in tanks containing only 1 species (not including microfauna lol)

·
Registered
802 Posts