Dendroboard banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All -I'm still a novice and would like some advice please.

I need to transfer 2 small [1/2 inch - 10mm] Golden Mantellas to a new vivarium. Their existing home is heavily planted and has lots of hiding places which makes seeing them very difficult, the new setup is more compact and should offer better views. As I've never had to transfer frogs I ask for your advice on catching them as 'painlessly' as possible given their environment.

CHEERS!

John

·
Registered
213 Posts
I place a FF cup w/ moist moss on its side in the enclosure. Then I gently play "chase" with tongs til they hop in.

·
Registered
2,464 Posts
Go to home depot, lighting section and purchase a clear tube used to protect florescent light bulbs. Cut this to a 1 foot length. Lightly flame polish the edges to remove any sharp burrs from cutting. Place one end of the tube over the frog which should hop up into the tube. You can now carry the tube to the other enclosure and chase the frog out or just set the whole tube inside and wait for the frog to leave on its own.

·
Registered
1,066 Posts
Frog tubes are the best way to catch frogs! Either a lighting tube, a fish siphon tube, or even the tubes from those Christmas candy canes at stores, those work great...plus you get a free snack. :) You just lower the tube over the frog gently and transfer to wherever. I'm about to use that method with 7 frogs ATM. Best way to move them with low stress on them in my book.

·
Registered
57 Posts