Dendroboard banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, I am new to the world of tadpole rearing and very new to this forum (just joined this afternoon). I am volunteering in a herpetology lab where the resident leucomelas frogs have been laying like crazy. I finally had two tadpoles hatched out and set up, but both died today. One had been doing well for a week, but the other had only been hatched for four days.

Their set up consisted of approximately a 16oz deli cup with a punctured lid to pour out water for water changes. The water was mostly RO with about 1/3 tadpole tea.

I made the tadpole tea with oak leaves I got from a friend of mine who works with amphibians professionally. They were frozen to kill anything that would potentially be living on them and then thawed and placed in a milk jug that was disinfected with RO and dilute vinegar. The leaves were left to soak in RO for several days before being used. I made this tea about a month ago so I'm not sure if that would have caused the problems.

The tadpoles were being fed a light dusting of Sera Micron twice a week and water changes were being performed as needed and the day after feeding. The temperature was in the low 70s.

I am out of town, but the person who is taking care of them noticed that one had molded and died, probably during the night. The other was starting to grow mold around its mouth so he performed a water change, but it died later today. They were just fed yesterday so water changes were to be performed today anyway.

I am not exactly sure what went wrong, so I was hoping someone could give me advice. The first two pictures are of the tadpoles and their set up when they were alive. The last picture is of one with the mold. As you can tell, I took a screenshot at the time my temp was telling me that the tea appeared bad as well. In which case, I would also appreciate advice on making tadpole tea...