Dendroboard banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
99 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

Now I know that mixing species of darts is frowned upon, but I don't intend on breeding any of them so therefore I think I'm in the clear :D . Anyway, I currently have 2 D. auratus that are about 5 months old, and am wondering if it would be possible for P. terribilis to coexist with them ( I probably wouldn't be starting this project until the summer) and if so what size tank would you suggest. I live in the dorms so space is a limiting factor. I'm rather new to the whole keeping dart frogs hobby so any suggestions are welcome.
Thanks!!!!

-Jen

·
Registered
5,684 Posts
The species/morph mixing isn't just frowned upon for breeding, although that is a major factor. The other factor is that many just aren't compatible for other reasons, be it food, aggressiveness, or just habitat needs.

While I've seen terribilis/bicolor housed with truncatus and fantasticus in a large tank setting at NAIB, the terribilis at minimum would have different feeding needs as they like bigger prey items (I've seen bicolor eat half grown house geckos, and these guys aren't any different). Terribilis love two week old crix, houseflies (thats funny as hell to watch), decent sized waxworm larvae (and their moths), small mealies, 1/4 to 1/3 grown silkworms, we're talking big stuff that auratus wouldn't touch.

I personally can't speak for different habitat needs.

G

·
So mixing species (such as pumilo and auratus) isn't good practice... I can see why and I agree. I maintain a South American biotope aquarium, keeping only fish from that region. (Plants are another story!)

But what about all the variations within a species? Such as D. Pumilo "Red" with "Blue Jeans"? Is this considered mixing as well?
If not, then the various colour frogs will not breed, will they? Will they breed with their own colour only or with anything within their species?