Dendroboard banner
1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Not sure if I’m posting this right or not, but I’m a beginner I don’t even have frogs yet, I’ve been hit with so many issues it’s not even funny, to the point of contemplating giving the entire vivarium and set up away. After months of research I got my vivarium got the kit added plants etc and a few weeks later these bugs showed up crawling everywhere in the viv, I did research and found out they were dirt mites, no problem. Wrong, they are crawling all over the outside of the viv and on the lid I open the doors and I just see them spread and I know I’m squishing them every time, they’re all over the glass inside and outside and my springtails are climbing the glass. I am not a bug person and in all my research nothing was mentioned that the bugs would get out and climb the glass, it’s very gross. My question is what can I do to keep them off the glass/and inside the vivarium if the bugs won’t stay in then I cannot keep the vivarium and it’s already set up and cost $500+ and I’m a student only working one job and still at home so I cannot have a vivarium with bugs crawling all over the outside of it, and I cannot afford to restart completely to get rid of them. So if anyone has advice on how to keep the creatures inside the vivarium it would be much appreciated!

·
Super Moderator
2,908 Posts
Since you don't have frogs yet, you can let the vivarium dry out some to kill off the mites. Generally speaking, mites will boom when there's an abundance of food and moisture. Then die off after they eat the food source.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Since you don't have frogs yet, you can let the vivarium dry out some to kill off the mites. Generally speaking, mites will boom when there's an abundance of food and moisture. Then die off after they eat the food source.