Dendroboard banner

1 - 20 of 121 Posts

·
Registered
2,426 Posts
Welcome!

This thread will be used as a journal for my 65 gallon Peninsula-Style Vivarium. I had been constructing the vivarium for a few months and I finally set it up last weekend on Saturday, 1/28/12. I am quite happy with the work I have done thus far. Here's some of the details about this vivarium:

Tank: All Glass Aquariums 65 Gallon Tank (36 7/8" x 19" x 24 5/8")
Lighting: Fishneedit 36" 4 bulb fixture with four 39 watt, 6,700K bulbs. The fixture is hanging from the ceiling.
Stand: Ikea bookshelf with shelving boards on top cut to the correct dimensions for the tank.
Background: The Background is made from Great Stuff foam and GEII Brown Silicone covered in Coco Fiber. The wood in the background is Manzanita wood.
Misting System: MistKing Starter System with 3 misting heads. I am still fine tuning the system but as of now I mist 5 times per day, 10 seconds each time. This will probably be changed soon, though.
Air Circulation: Internal Air Circulation is provided by two columnar ducts in each corner of the back of the tank. These pull air from the bottom of the tank and push it out at the top. The fans being used are two SilverStone Suscool 81 Fans.
Substrate: There is a 2" layer of Hydroton on bottom and a 3" layer of ABG mix above that. The two layers are separated by one sheet of window screening. On top of everything I have a 1" layer of leaf litter which consists of Oak and Willow leaves.
Plant List (As of Now, 2/4/12): Ficus radicans, Trailing Maidenhair Fern (Adiantum caudatum), "Mini Aroid Vine," Cissus discolor, Syngonium rayii, Rhaphidophora sp., Stelis sp., Philodendron wend imbe, Assorted Mosses. This list will definitely change over time. I am planning on adding Bromeliads and more Orchids soon.
Inhabitants: In 3 weeks (2/25/12) this vivarium will be home to my 3 D. leucomelas (Black Jungle Line). I believe it is a 1.2 group.