Dendroboard banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
199 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Anybody have any experience with Mantella eggs? I have group of 2.1 Black eared Mantellas that I have the first clutch of eggs from. They appear fertilized since I see developing tads in them however they have not fully developed and it has been about 10 days. From what I have read, they should hatch in about 6 days. I moved them and the moss and rocks hat they were laid on to a fish tank with water as soon as I saw the embryos were starting to divide. They are floating on the moss in about 2 inches of 70 degree water. I guess I am just wondering if I am doing everything correctly or is there anything I should do differently?

·
Registered
403 Posts
Congradulations on the eggs! I have bred both crocea and aurantiaca which are closely related to the milotympanum which I have little to no experience with. In the last 3 fertile clutches from my crocea the tadpoles emerged between 3 and 6 days after the eggs were fertalized. Directly misting the eggs, or even pouring water on them, seems to help the tadpoles break through the outer membrane.

I setup the eggs in the exact way that you have yours setup, on top of moist moss (java or sphagnum) just barely touching the water. I generally start the tadpoles out in very shallow water, about 1/2 inch for the first week or two and then increase up to about 3 or 4 inches by the start of the second month.

At the moment I'm trying out Medusa Lab's tadpole food in combination with occasional spirulina although I raised a number of aurantiaca tadpoles last year on a diet consisting of a mix of spirulina, fish flake and powdered repto-min turtle pellets. In addition to the powdered food I keep the tadpoles under strong lighting to encourage algae growth which they occasionally nibble on. Good luck with your tadpoles. Keep a journal about them if you have time, there isn't enough information around and the more we record the better.

·
Registered