Dendroboard banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
995 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey, I'm looking at getting tricolors for a hex/octagon viv and was wondering a couple things...

Are they bold?

Do they do better with male heavy or female heavy groups?

Are they more of an arboreal species?

And here's the stupid questions (my sister wanted me to ask):

is it hard to find them since they are brown???

·
Registered
197 Posts
They are so bold and aggressive eaters that they attack you when you feed. They do climb for the more dominate male gets the higher ground, but more of a forest floor animal. I have a 2.2 ratio and they breed like rats. They will start to turn red at almost 9 months or so. IMO great bold frog who calls all the time. Reminds me of a telephone type ring in my twisted mind.

·
Registered
1,709 Posts
I've had mine for less than 6 months (and technically speaking they are S.I.), so I'm no expert, but in my experience they get pretty bold over time. They will duck and cover if you stick your face against the tank, but otherwise can usually be seen and get bolder all the time. I understand they do better with male heavy groups. They are not especially hard to see, being brownish, probably about what you would expect. My female is usually on the ground, and my males are usually calling from different levels in the foliage.

Which brings me to the question you didn't ask. Do they call loudly? YES, and often early. I love mine, but if you are the kind of person that will get pissed from hearing frog calls at 5 in the morning...

·
Registered
6,110 Posts