Dendroboard banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
454 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have recently been researching LED lighting (and am eagerly awaiting my first package!) and have come to realize that 6500K lights that I've grown to love do not actually contain the red wavelengths that will promote plant growth. In hindsight this is perhaps obvious...

I see very little discussion on this matter....is there a reason that pure daylight is promoted over a different color spectrum that may promote better growth?

Looking at the reefing hobby, actinic lighting and in general considerations for blue wavelengths are given. I've no experience with reefs, but from my understanding this is to promote the coral growth/coloring because the blue light is beneficial to the coral; is this wrong? Is the light purely an aesthetic trick?

In any case, I'm fairly certain that the red wavelengths help photosynthesis and plant growth in general. Yet most 6500K lights are of course not exactly 6500K but typically in a 5000-8000K spread....which may include some beneficial blues, but it is pretty far out of the reds...

The only thing I can think of is aesthetics; that the red would overpower the tank and make things look "funny". Perhaps this would be an issue from the frogs perception as well? I'm not sure...

·
Registered
1,759 Posts
It depends on which 6500K bulbs you are looking at. 6500K fluorescent bulbs tend to have plenty of light in the red spectrum. When I see a spectral analysis of 6500K LED lights I don't see much red at all. The spectrum looks more like what you would see from a 12000K bulb.
I am not a horticulturist, but from what I understand 6500k lights are used for growth and the 3000K (much more red) are used for blooming.