Dendroboard banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
48 Posts
I am new to dart frogs and I need help on which kind of dart I should get. I think I have narrowed it down to these three species. (Leucomelas, Auratus, and Tinctorius.) I know they all have their pros and cons, but I am looking for the one that is the most active, gets along in groups, and is relatively easy to breed.

Thank you for the feed back!

Frogilla

·
Registered
701 Posts
Re: Leucomelas Auratus or Tinctorius?

I can't help you too much, but my auratus green and black is very young but very active and bold.

·
Registered
6,110 Posts

Leucomelas or Auratus are good beginner frogs that do well in groups. Some auratus can be quite shy. IME, Turquoise and Bronze or Costa Rican Green and Black auratus are typically pretty bold. Leucs are a great choice, as well, and have the benefit of a nice, loud call.

·
Registered
802 Posts

At this point, there's nothing we could add that would make one stand out more to you than has already been discussed in previous threads (including the other thread you've already posted on this topic). Use the search function and you'll be able to find plenty of threads where people talk about all the different pros and cons of each species. Maybe even look around on youtube and watch some videos of the frogs to give you somewhat of a feel for each species.

That said, any one of those three would make great beginner frogs. If you choose tincs though, be prepared to keep a pair per viv. Otherwise, small groups of the other two can work. If it were me, I'd say pick the one that you like the best. It's not the kind of decision anyone else can/should make for you and there really isn't a wrong choice to be had.

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·

Thanks for the advice. Are there different colors for the leucomelas than black and yellow?

·
Registered
1,916 Posts

Thanks for the advice. Are there different colors for the leucomelas than black and yellow?