Dendroboard banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
In the video on Joshsfrogs.com, he demonstrates how to setup a 10g vivarium with no water feature, a cocofiber-square background, a glass lid with no ventilation, and only a layer of hydroton under fiberglass mesh as the bottom layer.

I am very new to the hobby and researching as much as possible (literally for 2 weeks straight now) and all of this info seems contrary to everyones advice, yet joshsfrogs.com is a top rated seller, so obviously he has done this for some time quite successfully.

My question are, if I set up a 10g exactly as he shows:

1) is this large enough to house a pair of PDF's and breed them properly? (I know, I know, bigger is always better, but why does the expert use this method so successfully?)

2) will these plants be too much for a 10, with 2 pieces of small Grapewood and a cocohut: Neo. "Mosquito" (mounted), pilea "Friendship", pilea "Moon Valley", Orthophytum saxicola, Selaginella erythropus "Ruby Red", and small Tillandsia's (bulbosa, aeranthos, araujei, & butzii) mounted throughout? (Also, I would opt for live mosses and lichens rather than the sphagnum)

3) concerning the plants and the frogs, with a sealed tank, is there enough ventilation with this method of vivarium setup?

4) will a 6500K T5 full spectrum daylight bulb (24") be adequate for maximum plant health?

5) will it be necessary to siphon the water from the layer of hydroton on the bottom eventually, or how does that work? Is it a closed system and the water evaporates and condenses in equalibrium, and added water from daily mistings is used by the plants, so it never has to be changed/filtered/replaced?

6) would I need some sort of mini pond for them in the absense of a water feature? Not for breeding, just to soak, drink, etc. The bromeliad should be sufficient for breeding...