Dendroboard banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ive been using this for a couple yrs in my reef tanks without any issues. Ive got a bunch left over and wanted to see how yall feel about it for use in my viv? It says its portable water safe.

Product in question is
E-Marco-400 10Lb Kit

·
Registered
128 Posts
Well its used for aquascaping aquariums so i would say that it would be safe to use in your viv

·
Registered
128 Posts
I am not sure about that, i would not think it would cause any problems though.

·
Registered
2,145 Posts
I have not used that product myself, but a quick search on thorite, the main ingredient of said product revealed this

Thorite - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

This article and several others I brought up claim that thorite is radioactive. I am not a chemist or anything, but would research it further even if it is considered safe for fish tanks ( can hardly believe it is considered safe for fish tanks after the things I have read about it). Hopefully someone else can elaborate further or prove me wrong.

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
I have not used that product myself, but a quick search on thorite, the main ingredient of said product revealed this

Thorite - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

This article and several others I brought up claim that thorite is radioactive. I am not a chemist or anything, but would research it further even if it is considered safe for fish tanks ( can hardly believe it is considered safe for fish tanks after the things I have read about it). Hopefully someone else can elaborate further or prove me wrong.

Yes that part of it. Ive read that and it worried me when I st started using it with SW but never had any problems and has been in my reef tanks for a couple yrs now without issues

·
Registered
10,415 Posts