Dendroboard banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey I made this paludarium last weekend that Im happy with. Its my first one And im still learning.

I want to keep Dart drogs but I read that they arent exactly the best swimmers.

This picture is from last week but I have added much much more driftwood on the sand making more places to climb out of.

My biggest concern is the part under the land. Will they get stuck there and drown? The Land portion on the right is floating as well and has running water under it. Will they somehow fall in and get stuck under?

·
Registered
6,110 Posts
I would not put darts in there - not because of their swimming ability, but because there does not seem to be a lot of usable land area.

Have you looked at any of the Theloderma species?

·
Registered
63 Posts
I would not put dart frogs in there. Not nearly enough land area. Water features are generally for esthetic purposes. My first tank had a water feature and I found it to be more of a pain in the a$$. Too much room taken up by the pump and water splashing didn't help the plants or glass.

Reactions: jbherpin

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Ok thank you guys. You saved me a ton of money on frogs hehe.

The plants in there are from my Aquarium. Im actually coming into Vivariums/Paludariums as a HUGE Aquarium hobbiest. They were are submerged and just tryin to convert it into emersed. The moss is doing great actually and the Anubias is gettin there.

Ill look into other frogs. I saw a Mossy Frog Tank at my LFS with a tank very similar to mine and they have been in there for a while So i might consider getting some of those.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·