1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
76 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
"Scotchman's Choice 40 Lbs. Organic Peat Humus

40 Lbs. Organic Peat Humus

* Contains high quality organic composted forest products and peat moss
* Helps aerate soil, stimulate root growth, and improve drainage in clay soils and water retention in sandy soils
"

It seems to have all the right characteristics and key words, but I'm no expert. Would this be a good standalone for some basic plants, should I avoid it entirely, or maybe get it and add something to it?

·
Registered
3,152 Posts
If it's going to be subject to daily misting in your viv, you will need to amend it by adding some charcoal, sphagnum moss and perlite (keep perlite clear of frog contact). This is to prevent it becoming soggy. Peat moss retains a heckuva lot of water, and that may drown some plants.

Does it have any chemicals added? If so, what are they? And, what are these other 'organic components'? Maybe call the mfr. to find out.

It will also need to be baked to kill any plant/animal pathogens.

I like to put that stuff for the garden and use ABG mix with some other amendments when doing the 'deep root' positioning with my plants, and I do a non-perlite cover for the top, such as a layer of sphagnum and live moss.

·
Registered
76 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Or there's this one, too....

"
Scotchman's Choice 2 Cu. Ft. Organic Compost Soil Conditioner

2 Cu. Ft. Organic Compost Soil Conditioner

* Contains 100% high quality organic composted forest products
* Helps aerate soil, stimulate root growth, and improve drainage in clay soils and water retention in sandy soils
"

Would that be better since it does not have the peat in it to retain too much water? The whole bag is like $2 and change, sounds too good to be true or do anything useful for a plant.

·
Registered
3,152 Posts