Dendroboard banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello...im pretty new to the hobby, and i just set up a ten gallon tank about two months ago. the top is glass, with about 1" at the back edge that is just mesh to allow air flow. there isn't any condensation on the windows ever..yet the ground always seems completely soaked. the moss that was bright green when i got it is now turning brown in many parts. is this normal or should it be staying bright green? i don't know how it could be too wet if there isn't even condensation on the glass. the temp is def. in the low to mid 70s. thoughts? thanks,
eric

·
Registered
1,045 Posts
I found that I had to constantly replace my moss until I upgraded to a higher quality fluorescent light.

What type of light(s) are you running?

Also, the water in the bottom of the tank should not be so high that it soaks your substrate. What do you have in the bottom of your tank that separates the top layer (moss) from the bottom? It sounds like you do not have a false bottom tank but do you at least have gravel or clay pellets?

G

·
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
i have the substrate from black jungle...terra light or something like that. the water isn't up to the dirt though i know that for sure. i had a crappy light bulb in there before from an old tank, and just this week i got a 15W full spectrum bulb to go in with it. should i wait a little longer to see if this helps? also...one of my plants, a fern...has been getting brown at the tips of it.

·
Registered
545 Posts
Some ferns like a lot of light some ferns like none, it really depends on what fern you are talking about. I'm not an expert, but you might want to try posting this in the plants section and see what happens.

·
Registered
291 Posts
Just curious......