Dendroboard banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, I just finished putting together / planting my 75 gallon about a week and a half ago. Everything seems to be going good so far. Even my water feature / waterfall is in good working order. No unexpected leaks or unwanted water splashing.
My question is: is it really necessary to give a new viv a month or so to settle in before introducing any dart frogs to it?
Thanks.
-Allen

·
Registered
1,916 Posts
Absolutely necessary...no. A good idea...yes.
It really depends on a few variables: How old are the frogs you are going to put in? Will you be introducing the frogs all at once? Are they all the same age and from the same source? Do you want to have an established microfauna population? Could the plants you used have residual systemic fertilizers?

·
Registered
1,255 Posts
I'm no expert but it probably has a lot to do with what you used to create the viv. If you just slapped in some substrate and already sterilized your plants then you're probably good to go. However, if you used certain chemicals in your build or seeded it with critters you probably want to give it more time.
Also, all the stuff that fieldnstream said!

·
Registered
8,328 Posts
After a month, anything that could have gone wrong will have probably done so with the exception of water feature pump problems. It's much easier to fix issues when there aren't any frogs in it. Rooted in plants also tolerate the trampling much better.

·
Registered
2,076 Posts