Dendroboard banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
298 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
The one thing that is simply just bugging the crap out of me in this hobby is how to measure temp and humidity. Hell my Apex controller tells me just about everything about my reef and even has a nifty iPhone app. However this controller is slowly getting on my last nerve with it's bugginess. So I was looking into the GHL pro flux that way I can monitor everything all at once.

So here are my two questions.

How does everyone keep track of their humidity and temperature in there tanks?

and

Who is running what controller and how is it working out ?

-Byron

·
Registered
56 Posts
This is right up my alley! I'm a controls systems engineer by day...I have been logging Temperature and CO2 through a small PLC and Touch Screen. I'm sure this would be overkill for most people but for under 500 bucks I can monitor more than one cage at a very good accuracy. I can also control the misting, lights, anything that needs controlling. If your willing to spend the money I would love to help you come up with something...

I'm sure others will have inputs for more affordable ways of monitoring. I'm sure a humidity switch hooked to your mister would be just as effective.

Robbie

Attachments

·
Registered
3,029 Posts
My system is simple. I have a digital thermometer in my frogroom that tells me the ambient temperature. I add three degrees Farenheit to determine the internal temperatures of my tanks.

For humidity, if the ground is at least a little moist then I'm in the 70 percent range, if my plants are a little moist I'm in the 80 percent range, and if there's condensation on my glass I'm in the 90+ range.

I'm all about low-tech ;)

·
Registered
298 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·