Dendroboard banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
725 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hey guys... i picked up some little baby azureus earlier today from a friend for free. He found them in his tank hopping around, so they obviously got past the petri dish and metamorphed in there without him noticing. He had no use for them, so he let me have them. If i were to guess, i would say they are maybe 2 weeks OOTW so they are still really tiny.

Here is the problem... All three of them are really skinny. There were four, but one was dead when i got them. They are in a small tupperware container with sphagnum and leaf litter on top. I'm currently trying to fatten them up right now. They are all active, and hopping around, and i saw all 3 of them eat at least one dusted melanogaster each earlier.

My question is... Is there anything specific i can do to increase the chance of survival for these little guys? They are only my second dart frogs, and i'm still a beginner. I will be feeding springtails in the morning, and dusted FF's in the afternoon (not so many that they will crawl all over the frogs and stress them out though). I'm really hoping that they will fatten up and grow up to be nice healthy frogs!

Let me know if i am missing anything, or if there are any flaws with this plan.

Thanks in advance,

Ryan

·
Registered
433 Posts
I think your on the right track. They should fatten up quickly now that there is no competition from the adults. I would not keep them in any container that is not roomy enough,move them to something a little larger ( like a 5 gallon size enclosure) till they have grown some,then i would move them to their permanent home. Hope they make it!

·
Registered
725 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·