Dendroboard banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts
G

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm working on making a water feature in my viv and I'm wondering about what material to use. I first tried using big gobs of silicone and pressing gravel into it, but I didn't like how it looked (and it never really cured right on the inside) so I tore it out. I'm going for something that looks more like rock.

Has anyone tried using the vinyl concrete stuff they sell at Lowes mixing with sand-coco-peat? What about regular old concrete?

The epoxy-peat-paste also sounds like it might work- has anyone tried it before?

I'm a starving college student on a budget so hopefully I can find a low cost way to get the look I want.

Thanks in advance for your responses

~djohnston

·
Registered
369 Posts
Concrete is too alkiline. For it to work you would have to let it leech stuff out for months before useing it the viv.

I just finished an epoxy peat background (drip wall) for a tank. It came out great, and pretty cheap. Foam, epoxy, peat, plumbing and brushes came to less then 40$. But it needs to off-gas for a while before frogs are added.

I have a water feature in my big tank built out of scorria (lava rock) which I realy like. I bored a whole through one of the pieces and plumbed it so that water trickels out the top and down the side. The whole thing sets in a resivour that drains into my sump below. Covered with java moss, it has a very natural spring like apearence.

G

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
jumping on this topic: What are cheap ways to make a water feature. I'm not starving, but am a college student and on a budget. Im thinking about just using a foam background and shaping it to look real nice, mabey cover that with sand. What about inexpensive flat rocks from a garden center (that will not leech, because everything seems to leech)?

G

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I was also thinking about that. maybe carving a canal into the foam and then layring it with silicone.