Dendroboard banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hello, my name is Carlos and i am from Perú, i am new in the dart frog world though I have some experience in reptiles, two weeks ago i purchase 5 beautiful dart frogs (ranitomeya ventramiculata.) they have been in a small pail but today i finally put them in their terrarium.
The terrarium is heated by a heat mat that i placed on a side (from outside of course), decoration (only two small real plants, i will plant it the next month) an auntomatic rain system (with an aquarium power head and some tubes).
I will make a a threat about it next week ( right now i dont have my camera).
Well the problem is this, on july 17 i have to travel for 20 days, and nobady can take care of my frogs, but i will do this:
1. Feed them really well before leaving.
2. I will put two fruit fly cultures on the inside with small holes on the top so the flys can go in and out and the frogs can feed on them.
3. I will put a small plastic container with earth and cricket eggs on it, so in 8 days after i leave small crickets will beggin to emerge.
4. I will put some springtails on the grava.
5. for keeping it moist i will set the timmer conected to the rain system so it rains 20 secs each two days (the rain is preety strong, and the humidity on my city is already high (65-75) and i dont have a drain system so i dont want to make it an aquarium.
6. for light i will let one of my curtains open (we are in winter so sun is not a problem) i only have 1 timmer.

I am really worried about this and i hate leaving them alone but i dont have a choice.
So tell me what do you think, give me advices, tell me what could go wrong.

Thanks a lot for reading and for your help.

Sincerily

Carlos

PD: Excuse me for my bad grammar, i really need to practice my writing skills.

·
Registered
70 Posts
Hello and welcome!