Dendroboard banner
1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Registered
4 Patricia Tincs 1 leopard Gecko 1 Crested Gecko
32 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Plant Flowerpot Houseplant Pet supply Terrestrial plant

This is my first attempt at a waterfall vive. Some mistakes were made. Mostly that I didn't realize "PVC" foam board existed and was suggested to use "foam board" when I asked a builder on YouTube what was used to house the water pump and what I found locally was elmers craft foam board. It seemed weird to me but I figured the pro knew his stuff. I asked at both hardware and craft stores, neither of what was suggested was very good but the most useful might be what ever the weird bendy plastic material I got at the hardware store was as I ended up using it to fix the build after ripping out much of the disintegrating Elmers craft foam board. I also used pond filter sponge that I cut up a bit on both the bottom and the top as a cork from getting debris and such into the pump house.

Now all I need are some inhabitants! I'm thinking possibly arturus? Suggestions welcome! It's a 40 gallon exoterra.

·
Administrator
6,217 Posts
Really lovely display. :)

I really like to chose the species first, and then build the enclosure to suit it, but there are a few folks here who keep semiaquatic animals who might be able to suggest a species for your semiaquatic enclosure.

·
Registered
389 Posts
That looks cool. I love paludariums! I feel that combining land and water really makes for a great display. What substrate(s) are you using for your land and water portions? Are you allowing water to communicate with the land portion’s false bottom or did you build a divider?

Are you open to suggestions on livestock and build improvement ideas?

Sorry to bombard you with questions, but the info could help guide others who’d like to chime in.

·
Registered
Dendrobates tinctorus "Patricia"
142 Posts