Dendroboard banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,
I am new to dart frogs, the only experience I have with frogs are Tree frogs and Fire belly toads. I have alot of aquariums right now and breed angelfish.

Whenever I want to try something new, I do alot of research and reading, I lot for photos on the net and articles written and buy a book or 2. then I arrange the articles and graphics on a cd and present them to my husband. And we go from there. One thing I don't understand is the heating method when you get a froglet. I understand about the container, the things you should add for comfort, such as leafs, substrate and hiding places and keeping it humid, but how does one heat the little box?

Another question is. What is the best way to heat a tank for Dart frogs? Under the tank pads? cables? Lights?

Thanks so much for this forum.

Kay

·
Registered
850 Posts
First, are you talking about a quarantine container, ie rubbermaid shoebox, or an actual tank. Even if you plan on putting these froglets in a shoebox at first, you should have a tank set up well before you get them. If you find you need to heat the shoebox, I would just put an incadescent bulb over it and adjust the distance of the bulb for the desired temp. Or if you have your tank set up, you might find it warm enough simply sitting the box next to it. Either way get a temp/humidity gauge (you can get digital ones at Wal-Mart for $15) and make sure everything is ideal before you go and purchase frogs. Temps should be 75-80F and humidity 80-100%

G

·
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Chicago Frogger too!

Hi Kay!

I, too, am in Chicago, South Loop-ish. All winter I had very few issues with cold & heat. Trouble can come in the summer, depending on how warm your place gets. (My frogs move to a shady hallway, as we have SW exposure in our place.)