Dendroboard banner
1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
521 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have access to a microscope. Is it possible to preform a simple fecal? I would be mainly looking for worms and parasites. Advice? Pictures?

·
Registered
2,202 Posts
This is the best how-to that I found. Others may chime in with the best one they've found.

HOW TO DO FECAL EXAMS
This is a great DIY, however this is not for the novice (13 year old). I am a teacher, I have worked with your age group. Microscopes are great tools and I am sure you would love to look at poo, but you are not ready to diagnose your frogs with parasites. Not all parasites are bad, and some in balance are fine for your frogs.

·
Premium Member
254 Posts
Jason is right. I would probably say either find a frogger in your area that is interested in doing the fecals to help you out. Or shipping the samples to a lab to do the analysis. A local veterinary clinic really wouldn't have the resources to properly identify frog endoparasites. I have the benefit of seeing Dr. Elliot Jacobson on a daily basis at the Univ of FL Veterinary School and usually ask him questions.

I would say if you can acquire some of the cheap laboratory supplies seen in the how-to, then great but if not, I would probably ship fecals or find a frogger locally with microbiology skills.

·
Registered
827 Posts
Also, it's very easy to mistake certain things as eggs, etc. I have a year experience doing monkey and dog fecals and you need a centerfuge. Just a microscope at your house is a fun little project but unless your a scientist of some sort or trained, don't even bother.

To do a fecal, once you finally get the slide ready, you have to go up and down slowly covering every single spot on the sample. Usually an hour and it's BORING.

I had some ideas of doing this on my own but I quickly decided not to.
D

·
Registered
1,125 Posts