Dendroboard banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
264 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hello,

I am new to dart frog keeping (been keeping reef aquariums and hosting cnidarians for the last 10 years), and am in the middle of planting my 4 ft 60 gallon vivarium, which will hopefully be home to either a pair of green and black auratus, pair of blue and black auratus, or a pair of azureus (haven't made up my mind which species I want; suggestions welcome). I have been researching fruit fly cultures, and was wondering how many cultures I will need to get going to just feed a pair of frogs. I am thinking two at any given time, one for feeding, and another for the new culture? Does this sound about right?

Thanks for any help.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Two should be fine for a pair. When I first got PDFs I was paranoid of running out of FFs and consistently made way too many cultures. With that said, make sure you have a back up supply if yours crash for unexpected reasons. :)

·
Registered
264 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the reply, I don't want to make too many cultures since I only live in a one bedroom apartment. My local reptile store and petco usually have cultures in case I am desperate, but I will look into having three cultures at a time in case one decides to crash. I'm thinking three would be way too much for just a pair of frogs?

·
Registered
69 Posts
Yes with three you will probably have plenty left over. But u need to understand if/when you get mites they will spread to all cultures if kept in close proximity. They will eventually kill the production of flies. So you might want to keep them at different ends of your apartment

·
Registered
78 Posts
What do mites look like? How do the cultures become infested? How fast can they kill off a culture?

·
Registered
3,798 Posts