Dendroboard banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi! I have been searching previous posts and I haven't had any luck so far. I am trying to figure out how to make a vivarium cover (for 20L and 29 aquariums). I have come to the conclusion that the best way for me right now would just be to get the living hinge material from NEHerp, cut whatever material I use & slap together a hinge, and then fill in the last inch on the front with mesh/screen netting.

I'm afraid of cutting and sanding glass because I've never done it before and I value the integrity of my fingers. The other option is to use LEXAN or whatever other cheap plastic sheeting they have at Home Depot and use a plastic cutter to cut this. This idea seems less scary to me :D. Is one better than the other? What thickness should I go with?

Also, how do I put the mesh on the end? I mean I get that I can silicone it to the edge of the plastic/glass, but where does the rest go? Do I build a frame somehow? I've seen the ventilation build post from Pumilo, but I worry this is overkill (I'm not super concerned with how it looks right now), and I'd still need to figure out how to attach this to the plastic/glass. Any simpler ideas?

Thanks for the help!!

·
Registered
6,279 Posts
Here is how I've been doing mine...

http://www.dendroboard.com/forum/pa...c-filter-foam-fans-vents-ff-lids-etc-etc.html

But another way I'll probably be switching to is just to remove the hinge and silicone strip of mesh between the 2 pieces of glass to create a living hinge. You can then put that foam material on it to make it more professional looking and ff proof. Using just the foam their is more chance of it tearing.