Dendroboard banner

1 - 20 of 50 Posts

·
Administrator
8,734 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Man. I've been using Ward Sciences ff media for a couple years now. The yield is 90 to 95% of what ED's had given me, at a much better price.

At a better price... till now that is.

I've always ordered the 6 bags of 4 liter (that's a case). The last time I ordred it that was $61.

I just re-ordered and it is now $79 frickin' dollars!

That's a 30% price increase (that too effect in January). Unbelievable.

I make 30 ff cultures a week so I've never seriously thought about making my own.

That changes effective immediately. I ordered enough media to see me through, but my assignment for the forseeable future is to find a good media recipe and do my own thing cause there is just no way it should cost that much!

The main ingredient is POTATO FLAKES and the price goes up 30% ?!?

WHAT IS UP WITH THAT? :?:

Scott
Sanford, Maine

PS: Thanks for the "Edit" Guys... :?

·
Registered
638 Posts
Scott,
Here is the reciepe that I have been using for about 2 years now and it works great for me. 6 cups of potaoe flakes ($2), 1 cup of powdered sugar ($.75), 1/2 cup of brewers yeast ($1.75). That is the dry mix for a total of approximately $4.5 to $5 or so. Then I use 2/3 water to 1/3 distilled white vinegar. Mix the 2 together to the consistancy you want, sprinkle a LITTLE bakers yeast on top and the flies will do the rest. Any questions and I will be glad to help if I can.

TonyT

·
Registered
850 Posts
I use almost the same thing as Tony except I don't use Brewers yeast, I just use baker's. I actually use methyl paraben (mold inhibitor) but vinegar does basically the same thing. This ends up costing less than $5 per 1 gal bag. Much much cheaper and I have had just as good production as when I used ED's media. Can't beat that!

·
Registered
1,149 Posts