Dendroboard banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
128 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone,
I am a 21yr old college student in SoCal. I have grown up with fish tanks all my life and have a 60 gallon planted community tank. I had always seen and heard about planted terrariums and with some spare holiday vacation time, a 40 gallon tank i used for breeding discus, and some aquarium lighting i decided that i was going to finally make my terrarium. I now have the substrate, background, and rough layout( although i am still messing around with some branches and moss, which someone might be able to tell me if i have any chance of getting this sphagnum to regrow). Sometime this week i am going to get a majority of the plants for the tank and get the layout somewhat finalized. But now that i have described the tank i should probably tell you all that i am looking to get dart frogs, most likely D. tinctorius or auratus in a 1:3 ratio or 2 pair depending on availability at my reptile store.

I hope i can find some good knowledge from experienced frogger's on here and if anyone has any beginner tips to throw out there i would be very grateful.

Thanks,
Micro

Attachments

·
Registered
8,328 Posts
Instead of your LPS you should get your frogs from a local so cal breeder. You will get a higher quality frog and a better all around experience! Get that tank planted up and join SCADS! there's a lot of us down here who breed darts and are a great resource for peoe getting started

·
Registered
8,465 Posts
Instead of your LPS you should get your frogs from a local so cal breeder. You will get a higher quality frog and a better all around experience! Get that tank planted up and join SCADS! there's a lot of us down here who breed darts and are a great resource for peoe getting started
I agree! You have lots of folks in your area who can provide you with quality, healthy frogs and supplies. http://www.dendroboard.com/forum/west/74056-scads-scnvads-december-meeting.html