Dendroboard banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
248 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok, Partial Woohoo. I have two tadpoles that I know of from my almirante pums. I had misted alot lately and was going to drain their tank today, but when I went to drain it, I noticed that my pum's had transported the tads to this little pool that had accumulated in the corner. They're both in there, I don't want a cannibal party, and I want to drain. Can I put them in the film canisters myself and them find them? what should I do? Any advice would be great, although something tells me I just have to wait this out. Thanks.

·
Registered
1,411 Posts
It sounds like you have a rather unfortunate situation. This is a situation that I have had a lot of experience with as well- sadly.

If you move the tads the parents will not take care of them. On the other hand, this small pool sounds like it may not be the most suitable place for the tads to be. They are egg eaters and not cannibals- so don't worry about that. I would just wait it out and see if the water is permanent enough for them to raise the tads- most likely one or both will not make it.

Good luck,

Justin

·
Registered
292 Posts
If, in fact, the pool of water is permanent and you believe the tadpoles were transported there by the parents, then they could both make it as long as parental care continues. I had an instance in which a bribri pair deposited two tads in the same container (glass breeding cup) at different times. There was about 2 weeks time separating the tads, so development was at different stages. Each tad morphed successfully, although they seemed to take each one about a week longer than normal to morph out (probably due to food competition).

·
Registered
248 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thanks