Dendroboard banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am considering buying poison dart frogs, and I am trying to find out which type of frog to pursue. I am looking for a frog that is active and is easy to breed. And even though I am a beginner I am looking for a frog that I can enjoy even when I get past the beginner stage.

Thanks!

Frogilla

·
Registered
835 Posts
I started with Auratus and Leucs and have not had them long. Interestingly, both species are out all of time in spite of Auratus being known at times to be a little less bold.

They are very easy to care for. I can't speak personally for ease of breeding as I have no experience. It is generally accepted by PDF folks that both are excellent choices to try a hand at breeding.

I can tell you that I enjoy the heck out of both species. They make me laugh for some reason or another almost daily.

Finally, both a hardy species. I did something thoughtless and insanely stupid yesterday causing tank temp on Leucs to run up 5 degrees to 83.9. I was terrified that I had somehow injured them. How did they respond ? They ran around like crazy at dinner time eating like maniacs. Apparently warmer temperatures are cause for exceptional appetites. :D Not very funny, but I'll take the get out of jail free card.

·
Registered
6,110 Posts
I did something thoughtless and insanely stupid yesterday causing tank temp on Leucs to run up 5 degrees to 83.9. I was terrified that I had somehow injured them. How did they respond ? They ran around like crazy at dinner time eating like maniacs. Apparently warmer temperatures are cause for exceptional appetites. :D Not very funny, but I'll take the get out of jail free card.