Dendroboard banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I went to check on my 4 month old froglets (3) in there small 128oz grow-out container and they were all dead. I raised the, from tadpoles that I got in december. This is my first time having frogs and I don't know what happened. I fed them yesterday and they were all doing great (active, eating, no aggression). When I checked on them today, they were all liquified and black globs of dead frog. I feed them fruit flies dusted with repashy calcium+ and they are in a 128 oz plastic container with sphagnum moss, leaf litter, pothos clippings and a coco hut. They have been great until this. Help! Any advice or ideas? They are dendrobates tinctorius "Cobalt Blue" and I got them from @joshsfrogs.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I don’t have pictures because I threw it out. The ventilation was good because they were thriving for 4 months and it is what was recommended by Joshs Frogs.

·
Super Moderator
2,447 Posts
I don’t have pictures because I threw it out. The ventilation was good because they were thriving for 4 months and it is what was recommended by Joshs Frogs.
Without pictures it's going to be difficult for anyone to diagnose what the issue may have been.

I will say that container sounds exceedingly small for 3 froglets. Equates out to 3.6L if my math is right. I keep individual Ranitomeya froglets in bigger containers than that. I don't think it's what caused then to die, but who knows.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I can't get pictures. There was no aggression and they were thriving until today. The only thing I can think of is that I rinsed half of the sphagnum and added a few additional leaves for leaf litter.

·
Registered
588 Posts
In 24 hours they went from live frogs to liquefied black globs?

Off the top of my head, that little container must have been very wet and very soiled for that to happen.

·
Registered
8 Posts