Dendroboard banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
201 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
As the title says, does anyone have advise on setups?
Had a few clutches last year, and lost all tads at various stages. More againtoday, so looking for tadpole rearing advice.

Thanks all

·
Registered
201 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks Thomas.

Had seen the article, but trying to work out best methods as know a few people rearing different ways.

·
Registered
18 Posts
Gotcha. No, I have no experience raising tadpoles, so I am of little use in that respect.

If you happen to have success with the tads, please PM me. If you are interested in selling any, I would definitely like to buy.

Thomas

·
Registered
113 Posts
It's been a while but I currently have over 100 valerioi tads that are getting big, active, and thriving.

Initially I tried a stream setup:

But I found that they actually seem to thrive in a more simple shoebox setup where each clutch is in a separate shoebox, about 30-35 tadpoles per box.

Setup is simple:
I use a cheap, shoebox style tupperware. I add a thin layer of aquarium substrate (I used a gravel mix with flora max), treated tap water (some minerals seem to be good as opposed to RO), added a bit of pre-started algae (I keep a cup of algae growing under the lights on my rack), some indian almond leaves for tannins and a snack, and some live plant clippings. The most important thing I found was Oxygenation. I use a pump and air stone. They do need some light and seem to like current, but pumps are trouble and the air stone seems to move things along perfectly. I just keep them at room temp plus lights so low 70s... I suspect 76 is perfect but doesn't seem to matter enough to use a heater.

Feeding... I use a special mix I pulverize into a fine powder. It's just equal parts tropical fish flakes, algae bites, and high protein Newt Bites. I also give them occasional flies and fly escapees tend to find their way into the water on their own too.