Dendroboard banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello!

I just wanted to introduce myself. I am new to the dart frog/vivarium world, but have years in the saltwater/reef tank hobby. I am currently gathering supplies for a 18x18x24 Exo-Terra Vivarium/Dart build. My 14 year old son and I will be documenting the build and planting for his high-school horticulture class. We've been doing a lot of research, and are taking our time.

I'm a 46 year old IT manager from St. Paul Minnesota who has transitioned to a work-from-home environment for the forseeable future, and my home office is missing 'life'. I used to have a nano-reef up here, but had to move it to my basement after a water leak. I love the idea of a vivarium hosting two thumbnail darts. It will give me something to look at, maintain, continually research, and enjoy.

Our big questions right now are pretty basic.

1. What LED lighting fixture would be appropriate for a 24" tall tank? (probably depends on the plants we select)
2. What thumbnail species is best suited for our build? We both really enjoy the look and 'attitude' of the Ranitomeya Imitators.
3. What if we get a pair and they start breeding? What do you do with the froglets?
4. Are there any reputable breeders in the Midwest area (We have a great Reptile Store down the street from me, but their dart frog selection is minimal).

Thanks everyone!

·
Registered
65 Posts
Hi, I'm from MN too. I haven't been doing this for super long, but I think I can help a bit.

1. Not sure about lighting (forgot which brand I use), but plenty of others can help with that.