Dendroboard banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
552 Posts
Safe? In my opinion, yes.

I think it's foolish to think that even when you cover it with silicone and peat that you are completely sealing the foam from the water column of the tank, if that's what you're thinking. Polyurethane based products (greatstuff, types of gorilla glue) actually catalyze more quickly in the presence of water. As with anything, it can breakdown over time. A long time, likely longer than the length of time the viv will be set up for.

The one thing I'm not 100% sure about is the coloring agent they used to make it black. I assume it's non-toxic because it's safely used in ponds that have fish, amphibians and plants.

I would feel comfortable using it. You might not get very good plant growth because of how GS tends to form that glossy outer shell that most people carve away, but I have no experience with that.

PS make sure it's hella cured.

·
Registered
691 Posts
I've poured coco-fiber directly on the pond GS right after foaming and am satisfied with the result.

·
Registered
691 Posts
I don't think it looks bad plain. If you have plants that will root to it (ficus for example), it won't be seen anyways.

·
Registered
2,656 Posts
You should be good to go...I think they use activated charcoal to color it black.....I am not 100% sure on that but, that is what I was told at a pond shop....Could have been a ploy to sell the $16 cans of it though....

·
Registered
448 Posts
LOL activated carbon to make it black?!!!

Please excuse me...

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

Ok...

Now whomever told you that is 100% wrong and very likely KNEW they were wrong. Yes a ploy it was. $16 is a total rip off.