Dendroboard banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Dear all Hi, I am safa and frankly i am a true beginner :D . Now I want to go to make first Tank and would like to know: its many deferent between glass and plexy? Which one is better?
I want to make a big one for frog and salamander. Thank for your help :)

Registered
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
mmmm , Great , ... Thank you for usefull and short answer :) so i will go for Glass ;)

Registered
mmmm , Great , ... Thank you for usefull and short answer :) so i will go for Glass ;)
keepin mind, that to do it right you will have to drill it for vent hole and if you put a misting system you will need another hole as well.

Registered
Frankly I prefer acrylic. Easy to drill and work with. If the vivarium is essentially a plexiglass box with a door cut out, the bonds should be strong enough to keep from warping if the bonding was done correctly. The door would have to be glass though. Because the door would not be bonded down on all of its edges, it would easily warp. You would not have this issue with glass.

Registered
Frankly I prefer acrylic. Easy to drill and work with. If the vivarium is essentially a plexiglass box with a door cut out, the bonds should be strong enough to keep from warping if the bonding was done correctly. The door would have to be glass though. Because the door would not be bonded down on all of its edges, it would easily warp. You would not have this issue with glass.
safa
save yourself the trouble and just go with glass or you will be replacing your canopy lid guaranteed!!

Registered
You can just use Lexan/polycarbonate I have used it before with tank lids and other things and the sheet never warp and are easy to drill. You can buy the sheets off eBay normally cheaper.

Registered
You can just use Lexan/polycarbonate I have used it before with tank lids and other things and the sheet never warp and are easy to drill. You can buy the sheets off eBay normally cheaper.