Dendroboard banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello to all. I am new to the whole dart frog and fruit fly scene. Before I order my ff culture and supplies I want to make sure I understand this. Ive looked all over this site but cant find the answer Im looking for and its easier to ask on this forum. Say I use all the flies in one cup, do I throw this media out or can I reuse it? How long will the flies last in a deli cup? All help and replies will be greatly appreciated. Thanks

·
Registered
1,961 Posts
When you add flies, they lay eggs in the medium. Once the eggs hatch, the larva eat it. The culture runs down when all the medium is gone (ideally). While it is certianly possible to reuse the containers, once the culture is dead there is no media left. If you take out all the adults while there is still medium left, there will still be larva in the medium that will pupate and emerge as adults, but there will be a gap in production because you fed out all the adults. No adults = no new eggs.

As for how long it takes for the culture to run down, that depends on the type of container and how much medium you put in it.

G

·
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks. Also, I have 3 auratus so which ff should I use? Im going to order from eds. I have heard nothing but great replies about eds.

·
Registered
1,961 Posts
I'd recommend melanogaster for auratus, especially if they're froglets. You can buy flies at Petco and just order the culturing materials online. That way you save on shipping, since you don't have to pay for next day or second day air.

·
Registered
2,137 Posts
I wouldn't recommend getting the FFs from Petco because they don't give enough FFs to start a lot of cultures. Plus most of the FFs I got from Petco were fliers. I would suggest getting at least 4-5 good clean new cultures from EDs Fly Meat to make your future cultures. Plus their FF media is great!

·
Registered
4,324 Posts