Dendroboard banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello!

I'm new to raising poison dart frogs, and recently purchased a 2 month old d. tinc cobalt. I heard they were territorial, and didn't have a lot of room in my apartment for a large vivarium, so I just purchased one froglet, which I keep in a 10 gallon vivarium set up. I usually hear about frogs being kept in groups, but will my little one be ok alone?
Also, is it old enough that it can be kept in a 10 gallon aquarium and still find it's food ok? It seems to be eating all it's fruit flies (I feed it in the morning before I go to work, and when I come home there aren't any left in the tank), but I was wondering if fruit flies hide in the substrate.

This is such a cool experience so far, and I want to make sure I do everything right and that my frog will live for a long time. So far the temp and humidity are all correct, and my little one is very active and alert. I love reading all these posts, they are very helpful!

·
Registered
3,029 Posts
I don't see any problem with keeping one cobalt by itself. I did that for a little while.

Fruit flies will disperse throughout the tank and in the substrate. Make sure to watch him when you feed him to make sure you see him getting a few before heading off to work.

·
Registered
380 Posts
If you dont have enough time to watch him eat before you go to work you can always feed him when you get home.

·
Registered
145 Posts
Most of us keep our frogs quarantined by themselves in a small tank for anywhere from 2 weeks to 3 months, so I don't see a problem at all with keeping your little guy alone. You can always choose to get him/her a buddy and a larger tank down the road if you so choose :) (and you will! It's an evil evil addiction!) I enjoy having them alone for a little while just so I can make sure they are in fact eating, and active and it sounds like you've got all your bases covered already. Congrats!

·
Registered
16 Posts