Dendroboard banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
316 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am just getting into frogs again and was wondering what would be the BEST food for tads. and could I use fish food pellets?

also how do you make the tea and from experience what leaves and what ratio is best? can i pick up random oak leaves from my front yard?

·
Registered
10,415 Posts
I don't like pellets. The comparable flake is always higher quality. My primary Tad food is Ocean Nutrition Formula One flake. If you compare it to Formula One pellets, you can see that the ingredients on the flake contain more, and different types, of protein.
I supplement this with Cyclop Eeze freeze dried. CYCLOP-EEZE®: Product Info
I also use some powdered spirulina BUT a flake or pellet spirulina would lose less nutrition soaking in the water. I will be changing next time I mix.
Here are some threads.
http://www.dendroboard.com/forum/breeding-eggs-tadpoles/66675-favorite-productive-tadpole-food.html
http://www.dendroboard.com/forum/food-feeding/71722-tadpole-food-recomendations.html
http://www.dendroboard.com/forum/breeding-eggs-tadpoles/64488-tads-die-after-front-legs-pop.html

·
Registered
316 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
good to hear ocean nutrition is my choice fish food, got way more flake and tiny pellet than i could ever use in my fridge

·
Registered
179 Posts
I have some food for thought. I was curious if any of you have ever tried Elos Pellets.

I use them in my reef tanks due local reef shop that swears by that food.

They have showed me articles about the elos pellets. That they are very High in nutrition and do not have a large amount of phosphates in them and the fish tend to go crazy over them.

I was having problems with water quality in my tanks for months then I switched to the elos pellets and my fish seem healthier and my water quality issues have gone away.