Dendroboard banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to this so i am not sure what i did wrong. I used a ff recipe i got off this site. i did a culture and had success. i recently tried to do a few more and when i seeded them within days all the flies were dead. Did i make it too dry? What went wrong? Any advice is appreciated.

·
Registered
3,152 Posts
If you don't see evidence of mold, it was likely mites.

Cultures often come with mites in them, it seems it's becoming more common these days. If you see a bunch of very tiny white bugs inside when you look up close, this is what has happened.

If this isn't it, what sort of mix/recipe did you use, and how warm did you keep the culture?

·
Registered
3,152 Posts
Are these hydei or melanogaster flies?

The hydei only are able to reproduce when they have several generations of hatchings in the breeding cup---that involves using flies from different aged cultures. If this is not done, you will see this die-off without any production.

Also, I'd get your temps up to 80 if you can. This will increase production once you get it going.

·
Registered
2,083 Posts
I've killed cultures by putting the flies in before the media cooled off :rolleyes:. I've also found that if you add yeast to warm media, it can produce enough CO2 and alcohol to kill the culture because the yeast grows too fast. What I do now is prepare the media, let it cool, add the yeast and then let it air out for an hour or so before putting the flies in.

Usually mite infestations don't kill the flies that quickly and you can see the mites.
I am new to this so i am not sure what i did wrong. I used a ff recipe i got off this site. i did a culture and had success. i recently tried to do a few more and when i seeded them within days all the flies were dead. Did i make it too dry? What went wrong? Any advice is appreciated.

·
Registered
3,152 Posts