Dendroboard banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So this has been a long process for me. Somewhere around 3 years ago I started playing with the idea of getting some PDFs. I have been in the exotic pet hobby for almost 10 years now and really enjoy it. So PDFs were never very far away. The thing that always turned me off was not the delicacy of these frogs in general, but the food source that needed to be dealt with. Any way I decided about 6 months ago that I was going to dive in and I'm sure glad I did!

So I have finished (maybe?...if a viv can ever really be considered finished :p) my first viv. It has been designed around my frog of choice which is actually a group of Varaderos. It is a standard 15G long tank that I had converted to a vert by a local glass company. They actually did a fantastic job and for very cheap. Labor and materials was only $40.

After the long process of making the standard GS background and deciding the general layout of the tank I was ready for plants. I had difficulty finding plants locally and so after finding a few suitable ones I ordered the rest from Hawaiian Botanicals in British Colombia (excellent company btw). I now have all the plants in place after a bit of shuffling and I'm happy with the turnout. The plants have been growing in for about 3 weeks now so there are gaps around that I expect will fill in. The brom in the middle has a new stolen shooting out towards the center of the viv that will help to fill a void there, and I have two species of creeping plants to grow up the back and over the wood etc.