Dendroboard banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Thanks to petco's $1 per gallon sale, I now have enough tanks to fill up my first baker's rack. This thread will follow my process in designing the tanks and will include plenty of pictures. It is my hope that you all can provide me with input and advice because I am still learning. On the other hand, hopefully i can also provide information and inspiration to other people with my builds.

So here's the layout: The bottom shelf will hold three 10 gallon verts. One of these has been done for a while and already houses standard imis...

The middle shelf will hold a 20 gallon long and the top shelf will hold a 29 gallon.

Tanks :: IMG_0408.jpg picture by prim8pk - Photobucket

*In this picture there is a 20 gallon tall on the top shelf. This will be replaced by the 29 gallon.

As far as species go, The 20 gallon long will house a pair of azureus, the 29 gallon will house a small group or pair of leucs and I plan on keeping varaderos in one of the 10 gallon verts. As for the last 10 gallon vert, I'm not quite sure yet, but I'm leaning towards one of the lamasi morphs.

So here's where I am at this point. I'm in the process of putting together my 10 gallon vert for the varaderos. The greatstuff background is done. I siliconed a few pieces of mopani into the background to give the frogs some vertical space to hop around on. I'm almost done carving off the smooth outer layer of the greatstuff, then i'll start adding the silicon and coco fiber.

Tanks :: IMG_0406.jpg picture by prim8pk - Photobucket

*This was before i touched it up with more foam and did some carving