Dendroboard banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
626 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm sure this has been asked dozens of times, but I can't decide on a Zoo Med or Exo Terra Terrarium. I was looking at the 18 x 18 x 24. I can find the Zoo Med for $89.00 and the Exo Terra for $99.99.

These will be for dart frogs, so does the single door vs split door matter much?
Is one more fruit fly proof then the other? Lighting doesn't matter since I'm using T8 ship light strips right now.

I need some guidance please!!!!
Steve

·
Registered
502 Posts
I am a beginner at all this PDF stuff, but I will provide my opinion.

Personally I have neither. I use tanks with glass lids, but I wouldn't think that the Zoo Med and Exo Terra are that different from each other. I think I would prefer the split door, but that is just me.

The price isn't really all that different so in the end I think it will just come down to personal preference.

·
Registered
265 Posts
I have both.
I like the single door for that size but double door for the 24" wide +
I added glass to the top of both tanks for a few bucks to control humidity.

Both are about equal for bug proof and features.

·
Registered
1,170 Posts
i have both in that size but no frogs, so take my opinion with that in mind: I prefer the zoo med, that cost me half what my exo terra cost (although i got several exos on craigslist for much less) - for a PLANTED VIV. Just because the split door doesn't look as cool. I mean the whole idea of a viewable little rainforest is about looks and it looks better without the split!

·
Registered
223 Posts
I have both a Zoo Med and an Exoterra. I like the single door on the Zoo Med, but like the deeper well for plants, substrate and false bottom on the Exoterra.