Dendroboard banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys,
My name is Catalin and I am from Romania. I have been dreaming about having a tank with dart frogs for a long time but I decided to make it happen.
I am new to this hobby but I know the importance of reading as much as you can before actually owning the animal.
I plan on building at least a 100x60x60 cm tank for the frogs and this thread will be both a journal of the build and a means to decide, together with you guys, on various aspects of the process.
So, first thing's first...size. What do you think about it? Should I make it taller? Should I make it narrower/deeper?
At the moment I am limited regarding the 100cm size which will be the front side. I am also somewhat limited regarding height as well but this is more flexible that the length limitation.
I will be building the tank on my own as I have experience with aquarium building so I will put that to good use and build the tank to my specs.
I plan on keeping beginner frogs, obviously, but the species and number will be discussed at a later date.
So, how about the size? What are the advantages/disadvantages of having taller tanks? Would you reccomend taller tanks for a beginner considering I read that you will get different layers of humidity and temperature in tall tanks.
Having a certain level of fish experience I know that a deeper tank will give more options regarding scaping and more perspective but is this good in vivariums as well?
Looking forward to hearing from you and starting this build but I will not be making the first step/or any others until I am confident I made the best decision as I would not want to do another build or redo the first one because I rushed things, so this will not be a quick and easily updatable thread.
Thanks guys for your help and the time you put into the forum! So far I found it to be a great source of info.

·
Registered
574 Posts