Dendroboard banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
626 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is my first terrarium build and I decided to do TWO at the same time..
Maybe crazy as a beginner, but it seems like a good idea at the time, I was thinking of an assembly line idea!!!!

As it's my first build, I welcome ALL advice and opinions, good, bad and ugly.
I'm a big boy and won't get my feels hurt!

First tank is 18x18x18 and I'm thinking of putting an Auratus in it.
Tank two is the 24Lx18x18 and I think either a green Auratus or a few Leucomelas?
Thought on those choices for a beginner?

Day one of the build was great, almost 90'f and I hoped to get a TON done...
I had huge goals for such a nice day, but of course I didn't get even 1/2 done that I wanted.

Here's a few photos from day one:

The two Brand spankin new tanks, shop all over town for the best deal.
build1.jpg

Out of the box getting hosed down
build2.jpg

Removed the front screen and silicone mosquito screen over them.
I tried two different way since I had no idea of how to do it. One is on the outside and the other is on the inside. hmmmmmm What do you think?
build3.jpg

Resealed the base
build4.jpg

Close-up of the Silicone, it's GE Silicone I clear, Yep, I returned the Silicone II and bought the Silicone I after suggestions from people here.
build5.jpg

A few pieces of Cork bark. OK the one on the far left is about 20" long, the smaller ones are about 8-10 inches. I just hosed them off. Seemed pretty dirty.
build6.jpg

The next two are egg crate in the corners. I put them at an angle and Have some Mini-Jet 404 pumps that easily fit behind them.
build7.jpg

The egg crate across the front was to hold the corner piece in place while the silicone dried.
build8.jpg

Steve

·
Registered
626 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Also, as a side project I worked on my tank vines.