Dendroboard banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
250 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been culturing melo FF's for many years, pretty much all types, with total ease and success. I recently got a hydei culture and when I got home started a couple of others. I've read the threads and added a few things to the mix I use to accomodate the hydei but I've still not seen any activity. I started 3 or for melo cultures the very same day and they are already busting with maggots and pupae and I'm wondering does it just take longer for hydei to reproduce or to see maggot activity etc... Sorry if this is in another thread but I did a search and TONS of threads about hydei came up. Thanks in advance!!

JP

·
Registered
129 Posts
They have a longer development cycle. For me, it takes about 1 week to get a bloom of melo's, but almost two weeks for the hydei's.

·
Registered
995 Posts
apparently they take about twice as long as melanos...

Which i find weird, because my hydei boom in about 6-8 days...and my melanos 5-7 days... and i dont add very many hydei at all...

·
Premium Member
2,747 Posts
Hi Jeremy,

Your Hydei take 6-8 days? My Goldens take about three weeks and Blacks take almost a month to "boom". It almost sounds like we're talking about two different species!

Take care, Richard.

apparently they take about twice as long as melanos...

Which i find weird, because my hydei boom in about 6-8 days...and my melanos 5-7 days... and i dont add very many hydei at all...

·
Registered
250 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I'm not sure which species I have or morph if you will, I have. Thats good to know. They have only been in there a week and like I said nothing. The melos though are going through the roof... think I got this batch of media just right lol.

Thanks for the input!

JP

·
Registered
1,775 Posts
Hi Jeremy,