Dendroboard banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
0.0.3 Dendrobates tinctorius "boulanger", 0.0.3 D. auratus "Reticulated, or Hawaiian"
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I am new to the dart frog community and have a 18X18X24 Exoterra set up for my dart frogs. I had initially purchased 2 D. tinctorius boulanger frogs from Dart Frog Connection (I did not know about their reputation before purchasing as I just recently found this message board). I had wanted to get three in order to up my chances of getting a breeding pair, but only two were available. Since that time, ~ 1 month ago, I found one D. tinctorius boulanger on Josh's Frogs and purchased him to get up to my desired 3. My only worry is that he looks slightly different from the other two on its ventral surface (Slightly more yellow).

Now, I could just be being paranoid because of all of the horror stories I've read on here about DFC, but I want to be sure I'm not mixing localities. The new frog is slightly smaller and most of the patterning is the same. I am at work and cannot include pictures but I can when I get home if that would help.

I wanted to know if there is a way that I could distinguish between the different localities (Specifically: D. tinctorius boulanger and D. tinctorius cobolt).

Thank you so much for any help.
- Rex S

·
Registered
29 Posts
From my understanding, boulangers are dwarf tincs while cobalts are larger. Color is slightly different too.

·
Registered
0.0.3 Dendrobates tinctorius "boulanger", 0.0.3 D. auratus "Reticulated, or Hawaiian"
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
From my understanding, boulangers are dwarf tincs while cobalts are larger. Color is slightly different too.
Okay, that's a great starting place. Hopefully, with some research, I'll be able to get a more positive ID soon.

·
Registered
311 Posts
JF tends to sell their froglets right at 3 months oow so that would account for the size difference at this point if you bought it a month later.

·