Dendroboard banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hey all, I'm looking for plant species or plant forms/shapes that dart frogs seem to like. While I recognize Bromeliads are a favorite, what else do your frogs seem to enjoy? Do they like plants with long stalks, big leaves, ones that form bunches to hide in. I recognize leaf litter is more important than moss but are there certain species of moss you catch your amphibians on? I'm not a novice by any means to plants, but I am to frogs so any recommendations for their preferences would be much appreciated. Or contrarily what should be avoided?

·
Registered
737 Posts
Dart frogs are less interested in species of plants / moss and more interested in formations, that is to say, they like things they can sit on, or under.

So plants that have leaves tough enough to hold the frogs weight and in a location that a frog can climb and jump onto.

I have not noticed any preference for moss species.

Frankly the only plants in my insitu tank that are big enough to hold the frogs are the broms and the root ball of a rabbits foot fern.

·
Super Moderator
3,329 Posts
Dart frogs are less interested in species of plants / moss and more interested in formations, that is to say, they like things they can sit on, or under.
Agreed, plus they need formations that won't be a troublesome formation for that particular species -- e.g. leucs could be expected to have trouble navigating a wall of smaller-leafed Marcgravia (mine do, anyway) whereas many thumb species don't have that issue. So, plant for the frog species to be housed.

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #6