Dendroboard banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi everyone! I’m new to the hobby and am planning to make a custom bioactive vivarium in the coming weeks. I’m looking into purchasing a used 29gal (30x12x18) tank that I’m hoping to scape into something resembling tropical forests of Southeastern Asia.

I’ve done a fair amount of research about viv making (a lot of Serpadesign videos and scanning this forum) but it would be fantastic if I could have some personalized advice/comments about my vivarium plan before I actually start building.

Background-
I plan on making the traditional great stuff background with great stuff foam, GE Silicone I, and ABG mix over top. I recently have read that people prefer using Great Stuff Pond and Stone Foam because you don’t need to silicone over it? Thoughts about that would be great because I’ve heard mixed things on that.

Hardscape-
I have some small sections of driftwood I’m hoping to attach to the background. I don’t have a concrete idea of how to shape it as of right now but I’m aiming towards having a lot of 3-dimensionality in that the wood will likely jut towards the front of the enclosure. I don’t have any stones for the enclosure because, to be quite honest, I am not really sure where to get naturalistic looking stone. If you all have any ideas on where to find them, that would be appreciated!

Bottom-
I plan on making a PVC false bottom. It consists of gravel for drainage layer, mesh, and ABG substrate. The back corner will have an appropriately cut PVC pipe that I can use to drain the bottom of the tank using an airline tube. In text, this sounds very confusing but Serpadesign made a video about it that’s a lot more clear. If others have used this method, please let me know your thoughts on it. I was also considering doing the Matala mat/ pond filter bottom instead. Note that I'm not going to add any type of water feature to this, just constant misting.