Dendroboard banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
123 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
As of right now I have two breeding groups of R. Imitators (nominate)...
I have been breeding Drosophila Hydei (Flightless Fruit Flys)

Lately I have noticed that my FF Cultures have been producing less and less FF's. I've been breading from the same stock for over 7 months...

I have noticed mites in the older cultures, I am wondering if they are a contributing factor.?

The Culture recipe that I use is as follows...

4 cups instant potato flakes

2 cups powder sugar

½ cup cinnamon

½ cup yeast
I also add a sprinkling of Repashy SuperVite

Now this usually produces a pretty larger batch that will last me a couple of months.

Is this Recipe not the most viable? Or should I seek a different Recipe?

The other thought that occurred to me is that maybe the genetics of the FF's is getting a little thin from, breeding from the same stock for to long...?

Any Help or foresight will be much appreciated...

Thanks

·
Registered
19,318 Posts
You shouldn't be adding the supplement to the mixture. It contains tocopherols (vitamin E analogs) and the flies can concentrate the tocopherols and have them disrupt the vitamin A and D3 levels that the frogs can absorb.

Mites can decrease yields since the life cycle of hydei is closer to that of the mites than melanogaster. Are you using mite paper to help control
them?

The recipe is fine. I used the same basic one for years.

Ed

·
Registered
309 Posts
If the mixture worked fine for the past 6 months it seems unlikely it's now your problem. I use have both Hydei & Melano's along with bean beetles to ensure an adequate food supply. I've had Hydei going real well and then suddenly fall off and stop producing. The new culture I purchased at NARBC in Chicago was loaded with mites but produced very well. I’ve used to keep cultures for 6-8 weeks, now I only keep them in the same room for a month.
Brian

·
Registered
123 Posts
Discussion Starter #6